TREMS Launch Event November 2022

TREMS Launch Event November 2022

Angela Hoefnagels, Professor Calum Drummond, Dr Mary Kelly, Professor Alec Cameron, Professor Sujeeva Setunge
TREMS Hub Theme Leaders Professors Priyan Mendis, Ralph Horne, Sujeeva Setunge, Vivian Tam and Hao Wang
Special guest Dr Mary Kelly, Executive Director for Biological Sciences and Biotechnology, ARC
Dr Mary Kelly, Executive Director for Biological Sciences and Biotechnology, ARC & Professor Sujeeva Setunge, Associate Deputy Vice-Chancellor Research & Innovation, TREMS Hub Director.

Mid November, RMIT marked the launch of the TREMS Hub, a #research hub focused on tackling the #global waste #crisis.

This is a timely initiative and is made possible by funding and #collaboration from the Australian Research Council and state, industry and international #partners.

Lead by RMIT and University of Melbourne, the hub has been working for the last 18 months exploring new ways to engineer #construction and other high-value materials from recycled household, #commercial and #industrial waste to develop innovative solutions for practical application.  

The hub has 35 projects in progress supported by 36 #industry partners. RMIT Vice-Chancellor and President, Professor Alec Cameron, said that with Australia’s landfill space expected to reach capacity by 2025, it is incumbent on the University to be part of the solution.  

“The Hub’s research program aims to find holistic #solutions to address this crisis, co-designed in partnership with stakeholders across the entire value chain of waste.” he said. 

TREMS colleagues were so fortunate to have three eminent speakers Tony Circelli, from Recycling Victoria, Christina Chin from EcologiQ and Phil Gurney from Breakthrough Victoria share the opportunities for collaborations between Victorian government and the TREMS hub to translate the ARC funded academic research. 

“Together with our partners, the hub will aim to reduce the waste diverted to landfills and contribute towards the goal of 43% #emissionsreduction by 2030.”  

Thank you to our speakers and attendees for coming together to celebrate this milestone! 

Jennifer Paynter